Shane Watson’s Unbeaten Ton Powers CSK To Third IPL Title Win


New Delhi: Shane Watson’s unbeaten knock of 117 capped off a memorable night for CSK as they marked their return to IPL fold after a break of two years with a third title, equating the record of Mumbai Indians.A vintage Shane Watson put up an exhibition of power-hitting in front of a packed Wankhede crowd as he struck a memorable unbeaten century to power Chennai Super Kings to their third Indian Premier League title.

That Watson would singlehandedly knock the winds out of SRH sails seemed a distant possibility when he played 10 straight dot balls before getting off the mark with a powerfully hit boundary straight past the bowler. He lost his opening partner Faf du Plessis (10) but then took over the stage providing a wholesome entertainment.

His assault took flight in the final over of the Powerplay when he smacked a six and four off consecutive deliveries from Sandeep Sharma. The 15-run over marked changed the scene after CSK had managed just 20 off their first five overs.

He was in punishing mood. Barring Rashid Khan (0/24) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0/17), every SRH bowler was taken to the cleaners. Siddarth Kaul was off colour, repeatedly missing his line and length as Watson flicked him for a six over square leg and then Suresh Raina (32) joined in the fun with two fours in the same over. After Watson clattered two sixes off Shakib Al Hasan either side of the 11th over, Kane Williamson turned to Carlos Brathwaite whose over was a precursor to a storm that Watson would unleash in the following over to be bowled by Sandeep. Sandeep had a night to forget as in his final over, Watson struck three sixes in a row apart from two fours, taking the total from the over to 27 runs. His four overs cost SRH 52 runs and a wicket.

Add comment

Security code