Priyanka Vadra Says, Prime Minister Narendra Modi Should Stop Thinking That People Are Fools

New Delhi: Congress general secretary Priyanka Vadra said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi should stop thinking that “people are fools” launching a counter-attack on him, who in a blog post targeted the Gandhi family.

“The BJP has systematically attacked every institution in last five years including the media. The prime minister should stop thinking that people are fools and understand that they can see through this,” Priyanka Gandhi said on the last day of her Ganga Yatra in Uttar Pradesh.

In his latest blog post, PM Modi attacked the Congress and the Gandhi family saying, “Institutional insult is the Congress way.” The prime minister also said that the top leadership of the Congress is “on bail vis-a-vis a major scam”


BJP Suffers Setback In Northeast With 23 Of Its Leaders Quit The Party In Last Two Days

New Delhi: In the election time, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has suffered a major setback in the northeast with 23 of its leaders quitting the party in last two days. In Arunachal Pradesh, 20 BJP leaders, including two ministers and six MLAs, joined the National People’s Party (NPP) late on Tuesday evening. This move took the strength of the NPP to 13 in the Assembly. The BJP still has 40 MLAs in the 60-member House.

Arunachal Pradesh goes to polls on April 11 to elect 2 Lok Sabha MPs and 60 new members to the state assembly. “Two sitting ministers Kumar Waii and Jarkar Gamlin and six other BJP legislators formally joined our party. Former BJP general secretary Jarpum Gamlin and two other former MLAs and 8 other BJP leaders have also joined us,” said NPP legislator from Roing Mutchu Mithi.


Pakistan Summons Indian High Commissioner To Lodge Protest On Acquittal Of Samjhauta Terror Attacks Accused

New Delhi: Pakistan now objects courts proceedings of India when its acting foreign secretary summoned Indian High Commissioner Ajay Bisaria to lodge country’s protest and condemnation of the acquittal of all four accused in the Samjhauta terror attacks by an National Investigation Agency (NIA) Court.

The NIA court had acquitted all four accused, including Swami Aseemanand, for the deadly firebombing of the Samjhauta Express in 2007. In the attack, 68 people, including 42 Pakistani passengers, had died. The attack had taken place on February 18, 2007.

Lodging Pakistan’s condemnation against the acquittal of the four accused, the acting foreign secretary “stressed that Pakistan had consistently raised the lack of progress and the subsequent, concerted attempts by India to exonerate the perpetrators of this heinous terrorist act in which 44 innocent Pakistanis lost their lives”, a statement issued by Pakistan’s foreign ministry said.


Pakistani And Indian Officials Hold A Meeting In No Man’s Land On Indo-Pak Border In Dera Baba Nanak

New Delhi: Teams of officials from Pakistan and India held a meeting in no man’s land on Indo-Pak border in Dera Baba Nanak to discuss the technical issues regarding the proposed corridor to Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur. The team of experts from both the countries discussed alignment, coordinates, and other engineering aspects of the proposed crossing points.

The meeting, held in makeshift tents, comes days after the two countries held talks to finalise the modalities for the corridor. The technical meeting at the level of experts, including engineers and surveyors, was held in the follow up to the decision reached in the March 14 meeting, said sources.

The Pakistani team that included 20 delegates was received by the Dera Baba Nanak sub-divisional magistrate Gursimran Singh Dhillon. The 14-member Indian team had officials from the Land Ports Authority of India, National Highways Authority of India (NHAI), BSF and the Punjab government.


Former Supreme Court Judge Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose Appointed As The Country’s First Lokpal

New Delhi: According to an official communiqué, Former Supreme Court judge Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose appointed as the country’s first Lokpal, the anti-corruption ombudsman. Former Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) chief Archana Ramasundaram, ex-Maharashtra Chief Secretary Dinesh Kumar Jain, Mahender Singh and Indrajeet Prasad Gautam have been appointed as non-judicial members of Lokpal.

Justices Dilip B Bhosale, Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Abhilasha Kumari and Ajay Kumar Tripathi have been appointed as judicial members in the anti-corruption ombudsman, the communique issued by Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

These appointments were recommended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led selection committee and approved by President Ram Nath Kovind.