Rashtriya Janata Dal To Contest 20 Seats With The Congress Fighting Nine In Bihar For LS Polls


New Delhi: The grand alliance in Bihar announced a seat-sharing deal for the Lok Sabha elections after much delay. Under the arrangement, Rashtriya Janata Dal would contest 20 seats with the Congress fighting in nine. The two national Left parties—CPI and CPM—were given a cold shoulder.

Under the arrangement, GA’s other constituents like RLSP (Rashtriya Lok Samata Party) would contest five seats, Hindustani Awam Morcha (S) three seats and Vikashsheel Insaan Party (VIP) three seats. One seat has been offered to CPI-ML(liberation), a major Left force in Bihar, by the RJD from its own quota. CPI-ML is yet to respond to the offer.

The Congress having made a climb down from its demand of 11 seats and had to forgo its traditional Aurangabad seat as coalition leaders today announced that the seat had gone to HAM(S) led by Jitan Ram Manjhi. Former Governor Nikhil Kumar was vying for the ticket from the Aurangabad seat.

The non-allotment of seats to CPI or CPM has dashed hopes of former Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) student union president Kanhaiya Kumar of contesting from the Begusarai parliamentary seat as a grand alliance candidate.

Opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav who was likely to announce the seat adjustment did not turn up at the press conference, which was addressed by RJD’s Rajya Sabha MP and national spokesperson Manoj Jha, state RJD president RamChandra Purbe and Congress state president Madan Mohan Jha.

There were speculation Tejashwi skipped the event to evade questions on existing hitches on certain seats between RJD and Congress, a reason why the GA presser did not announce the names of seats to be contested by all allies. Only names of candidates of seats going to poll in the first phase were announced.


Add comment

Security code